Me again. Not much new happening, but I just thought I’d update because, well, I haven’t written in a long time and I’m starting to miss it.

Last I left you I had just started a new medication called Trulicity. It was supposed to help my blood sugar, reduce my appetite and consequently, help me lose a little weight. On top of the medication I’ve been eating healthier and exercising more.

I used to eat because of my love for food; now I eat out of necessity. Don’t get me wrong, I still enjoy eating my favorite foods, but I’ve learned to control how much I eat, aka, stop eating when I’m full. It’s stopped the majority of cravings too, which is a beautiful relief.

This morning I reached a big goal of mine when it comes to weight. From my heaviest weight I’ve lost almost 30 pounds. I still have quite a way to go but for the first time, I’m seeing results without suffering from hunger or cravings. And it’s a steady loss; no more of this up and down stuff.

Of course, I wish I could do this without the help of medication. But my body functions differently than most in more ways than one. My health has been a chain reaction with diabetes; it has caused hypothyroidism (slow metabolism), kidney dysfunction, hyperglycemia (high blood sugar, resulting in the storage of insulin in fat cells) and other complications that may or may not have affected my weight. Sometimes, people with specific health conditions have to accept that they work differently. I’m finally accepting it; but I’m not letting it defeat me.

Like I said, I still have a way to go before I reach my ultimate goal but it’s finally seeming realistic.

Pictures to follow when it’s more final that I’ve really hit this goal.

“Going through these life changes, gotta keep my head moving.”

Leave a Reply

