…That you don’t have to shop in the plus size section anymore. I recently went shopping with my mom at the mall, and the first store we went in was Forever 21. Now, I’m sure that almost anyone who shops there can admit that their sizes are reasonable compared to other stores, but are still cut just a little small. So, naturally, I head upstairs toward the “Forever 21+” section. After looking for a while through their very limited selection of plus size clothing, my mom says to me, “You know you don’t have to shop in this section anymore, right?”

But I didn’t know. I wasn’t aware that my body had changed that much. Thirty-five pounds sounds like a big number, but I didn’t see what the scale was telling me in my reflection. However, I broadened my horizons and wandered through the rest of the store. I didn’t know where to start, honestly. The clothes on the hangers looked so small, there was no way they were going to fit me. But I picked out a few shirts to start and guess what?

They fit. Comfortably.

I haven’t been that excited in a very long time. Shopping is always an emotional process when you’re plus sized.

  1. Pick up a cute piece of clothing
  2. Doubt that it will fit, or look good on your body if it does
  3. Try it on anyway, secretly hoping it will fit you like the jeans in Sisterhood of the Traveling Pants
  4. Look in the mirror, immediately take it off, and explain to whoever you’re shopping with that you “just didn’t like it”
  5. Repeat

Being used to that step-by-step process, I was hesitant to buy anything that was labeled normally. However, when I did buy it, get it home, try it on and still like it in my own mirror, it was such a good feeling. It’s a beautiful feeling to see beauty in your own reflection.

I know, I know, beauty is on the inside. But it’s nice to like yourself as a whole rather than in parts. I still have a long way to go, but for the first time I actually think I can get there.

 

progress

Leave a Reply

